- Bicycle Accidents
- Brain Injuries
- Car Accidents
- Construction Accidents
- Dog Bites
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Sex Abuse Of Children
- Sexual Assault Victims
- Slip & Falls
- Spine Injuries
- Truck Accidents
- Workers’ Compensation
- Wrongful Death
Uninsured Motorist Claims in Hartford
How to Obtain Compensation If You Were Hit by an Uninsured Driver
In Connecticut, all licensed drivers must carry auto insurance. Additionally, all motorists are required by law to carry a certain minimum amount of liability coverage—$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident—along with a minimum of $25,000 in property damage. However, despite the law, many motorists choose to drive without the required auto insurance.
If you were involved in a car accident with an uninsured motorist, or were involved in a hit and run accident, you may still be able to recover compensation for your damages by filing an uninsured motorist claim with your own auto insurance provider. Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is a mandatory form of insurance in Connecticut that protects you in the event you are injured by someone who does not have the required minimum liability coverage.
Do I Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
If you are a licensed driver in the state of Connecticut, you are required to carry minimum liability insurance and uninsured motorist coverage. UM coverage should be included on your normal auto insurance policy.
Just like with your other auto insurance coverage, Connecticut imposes minimum coverage amounts on UM policies. These amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 per person in bodily injury coverage
- $50,000 per accident in bodily injury coverage
Note that you are not required by law to have UM coverage for property damage. However, you may elect to add additional UM coverage, including extra coverage in addition to the minimum bodily injury requirements, to your policy.
Additionally, it is important to know that your UM policy covers yourself, your family, and anyone in your car at the time of the accident.
How Does Uninsured Motorist Coverage Work?
If you are hit by an uninsured driver or involved in a hit and run, your first step would be to turn to your own auto insurance provider for UM compensation. In other words, you will need to file a claim with your own insurance company to recover damages.
For example, say you were hit by someone who was texting and driving at the time of the collision. Both you and your passenger suffer moderate injuries in the accident. The distracted driver stops after the accident but tells you that they don’t have any car insurance. After the accident, you go to the doctor to seek treatment for your injuries, as does your passenger. While your passenger’s injuries turn out to be relatively mild, yours are more serious. You have to take time off work to heal, meaning you miss out on a week’s worth of wages. When you file a claim with your insurance company for UM compensation, you should be able to recover up to $25,000 for your losses. Together, both you and your passenger cannot recover more than $50,000 for all losses you both sustained as a result of the accident.
Why Work with an Attorney?
Believe it or not, insurance companies—including your own—do not always have your best interests at heart. While it may seem obvious to you that you are owed compensation after an accident with an uninsured motorist, your auto insurance provider may disagree.
It’s important that you work with an experienced car accident attorney if you are encountering any difficulties at all with your UM claim. At Goff Law Group, our Hartford uninsured motorist claims attorneys have extensive and in-depth knowledge regarding these types of claims. We know how to aggressively pursue maximum compensation for your injuries and damages, and we are ready to fight tirelessly for you. Our firm is proud to have a 99% success rate in personal injury cases, thanks in large part to our tenacity, experience, and skill.