- Bicycle Accidents
- Brain Injuries
- Car Accidents
- Construction Accidents
- Dog Bites
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Sex Abuse Of Children
- Sexual Assault Victims
- Slip & Falls
- Spine Injuries
- Truck Accidents
- Workers’ Compensation
- Wrongful Death
CONNECTICUT HIT AND RUN ATTORNEYS
What to Do If You Are Involved in a Hit & Run
Being involved in any car accident is typically a stressful and frightening experience; when the person who hit you doesn’t stop after the accident, the experience can be all the more overwhelming. If you were involved in a hit and run accident and, therefore, were unable to obtain the other person’s contact or insurance information, you may be wondering how you will be able to get compensation for your medical bills, vehicle repairs, and other damages. Our hit and run attorneys are here to help guide you through the claims process and help you recover any compensation you deserve. You don’t have to go through this alone. Call us now for help.
Thankfully, there are options available to you. In Connecticut, you are required to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage as part of your auto insurance policy. This coverage protects you in the event that you are hit by another driver who does not have enough insurance or any insurance at all to cover the cost of your damages.
Is Failing to Stop After an Accident Illegal in Connecticut?
Under Connecticut state law, “evading responsibility” is illegal. In other words, failing to stop after hitting another vehicle, bicyclist, pedestrian, or someone’s property with your vehicle is a crime. Despite this, hit and run accidents still occur with alarming frequency.
Why do people fail to stop after accidents? Some common reasons include:
- They were intoxicated or under the influence of drugs/alcohol
- They do not have the mandatory minimum auto insurance
- They were frightened or in shock after the crash
- They wish to avoid responsibility for the incident
Regardless of the reason for not stopping, hit and runs are always unlawful. If you were the victim of a hit and run accident, you should contact local law enforcement and file a police report. Provide any details you can remember about the car or driver that hit you. Even if you do not have any details of the incident, you should still file an official police report.
Understanding Your Recovery Options
By law, all motorists in Connecticut are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage, as well as $25,000 per accident in property damage. Additionally, your auto insurance policy must include uninsured motorist coverage in the minimum amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury coverage. Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage does not include any mandatory coverage for property damage, though you may elect to add additional coverage to your policy.
After a hit and run accident, you should be able to seek compensation for your medical bills and other related damages by filing a claim for UM coverage with your own auto insurance provider. While this process should be relatively straightforward, actually receiving the compensation you are owed is not always simple. It’s best to work with an experienced attorney who can help you properly file your claim, meet all applicable deadlines, and advocate for the maximum compensation you are owed.
Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation
At Goff Law Group, we understand how stressful it is to be involved in a hit and run accident. Our car accident attorneys are here to answer your questions and provide you with the guidance you need so that you can move forward with your life. We encourage you to reach out to us today to speak to one of our Hartford hit and run accident lawyers about your situation.